Film Review: War Room (How is Your Prayer Life?)

2017! January!

Are you pumped up ready for the New Year? New goals and new resolutions, right?

How about using this month to sort out your prayer life/prayer strategy to achieve your goals and maintain your resolutions.

I only watched this film for the first time a few months ago (covers face) and I thought what great way it would be to kick start and improve my prayer life. Unfortunately today, I have to say the thoughts never turned into actions. But just before I began to write this post I read a testimony based on this film (which I will be sharing later on this month), every prayer she wrote in her “war book” came to pass.

As if that wasn’t enough, my friend and I were discussing on the same day about 2017 and how we want a string of testimonies that will continue to blossom onto 2018 – she had the same idea of writing all prayer points and scriptures. 

I pray my December 2017 review post will be too much for you to read…lol

Meanwhile, I would like to write my brief review on the film for those still to watch it.

Film: War Room (Prayer is a Powerful Weapon)

Director: Alex Kendrick  Writer: Stephen Kendrick

Release Year: (2015)

fb_main

Very brief summary…

War Room is a beautiful, simple Christian film that demonstrates the power of prayer -particularly when you feel that you are out solutions. In this case the film conveys how Tony (Husband) and Elizabeth (Wife)’s marriage is under strain and the effect it is having on their daughter’s well-being.

Just from studying the main characters we have a husband who is flirtatious, proud and boastful. Christian? – yes he is. But the type to put God not at the top of the list.

Then the wife – according to other reviews she is bitter. I didn’t get that. In my opinion she lost confidence in her man, in herself, in her marriage and in God.

Now when putting both husband and wife together – most certainly we can say, that it is quite frankly a recipe for disaster and as a result the daughter felt as though she was not loved by her parents.war-room-main_article_imagesynopsis_photo

The turning point came when Elizabeth met a client (Ms Clara) through her work. A client who was on fire for God and was not weary when it came to her faith. Ms Clara, mentored Elizabeth, advised her and taught her how to pray by introducing her to her weapon the “War Room”.

 

 

Overall thoughts on the film:

Firstly, the title of the film comes with meaning. When we think about prayer it is like a battle, it is like a war. When we come back from that war – we are not supposed to feel or come back the same.

Let’s digress a little. There are times I go to the gym and come back out without a sweat, without an ache and am still over energised to return home. For me…that’s just an indication that my time at the gym was a waste. However, on frequent occasions (particularly with a friend) when I come out of the gym – I know that Yes! I have burnt off almost every calorie I ate earlier in the day…(well it feels like that).

It’s the same with prayer, when you have prayed – you are supposed to feel a difference…You are supposed to feel confident that God has the situation at hand and there is no need for you to worry anymore.

War Room, War Box, War Book, War iPad and so on. Powerful weapons for beautiful testimonies.

Secondly, although the acting for me was a little cheesy and the script itself was displayed to be nothing outside the ordinary – it delivered it’s lessons/messages effectively, to the point that I would watch it over and over again, to ensure I didn’t miss a “trick” on how to get my prayers answered.  Yep! I have the DVD.

Finally….my favourite scene. It made me laugh. This for me was the most important part of the film.

What a way to show us how your prayer life is supposed to be. HOT! Not in the middle, not lukewarm. Oh I love it.

So in a nutshell:

Your prayer life needs to be hot

Your prayer points needs to be specific

Your prayer points needs to be organised

When you come to pray, come with faith, come with expectation.

Don’t be an occasional prayer

Don’t wait for time to pass by to pray.

God is already waiting to hear from you. Question is are you ready for battle?

2 thoughts on “Film Review: War Room (How is Your Prayer Life?)

Leave a Reply

