YEAR 2015: Thumbs Up and Down…

 

Hello Testimony speakers,

20 days in but Happy New Month anyway. I pray that this year finishes gloriously for you and anyone connected to you.

Today’s post has been inspired by Princess Okechukwu post also titled Year 2015: Thumbs Up and Down…, I thought it may be a good opportunity for me to reflect (and share with you) on the year that is now coming to an end and nominate a few of bloggers to opt and do the same.

THUMBS UP or Highlights

Serving in the house of the Lord : My previous manager before I left told me I will have a ministry that involves the youth – that I will have an impact on the younger generation. I went from working with teenagers to working in the pharmaceutical industry. Not long after wards I was given a task to present to teenagers at my church. Surprise surprise. I loved it!

Everyone has something to offer to the church whether it is preaching, teaching, singing or even cleaning. (Ephesians 4:12). The Word tells us to make sure use of the gifts/talent that we have so serve others as well as build the church. (I Peter 4:10).

As you bless people through your talent, God will bless you in every aspect of your life. #CupofBlessings

 

Going Abroad: Beautiful Portugal late September.

 

One of my greatest achievements of this year. It’s not the first time that I have travelled however, it was outside the UK and it was not Nigeria. It was an experience I will never forget and it is something that I will have to consider doing annually. Those who travel frequently know that the mind and body rests whilst you are away for your normal everyday surroundings. For me whilst in Portugal, there were a moments that I realised that life is not just about going to school, getting a degree, getting a job and then marriage which leads on to parenting. It’s not even all about money No! Life is also about taking time out and reflecting occasionally. Reenergize him/herself ready to achieve the next new goal. Travelling is a time to see what is out there; is also a way of broadening your knowledge about the places that exists as well as learning the different cultures that are out there.

I should say I waited for the right time before I considered travelling. There is time for everything and your time for travelling will come at the right time if you really desire to travel even when considering the funds in your account. (Ecclesiastes 3:1)

 

Learning Through the Patience: Like everyone in general, there are things we want to happen according to our “worldly timeframe”; forgetting that God is the one who is in control of our lives, and that working ahead of him can lead to disappointments, destruction or lifetime consequences that affect generations.

There were several times this year when I did ask “why not now?” or “when will it be my time?” and then weeks / months down the line (during reflection time) I would say “actually, I wasn’t really ready for that”. When you are expecting something, read scriptures relating to it, ask questions about it too. Get hold of the basics so that when it is time you can actually say that you ready to maintain that item or sustain a peaceful vibe of the situations that eventually comes your way.

Remember that God timing is the best. Know it and believe it.

 

Year into my job: I can’t believe it has almost been a year since I wrote this testimony. I praise and I will forever thank Him for giving me this job. Despite my lack of experience within the filed, God made me the head and not the tail. Left, right and center there is divine favour. I was once told that I brighten up the place of work…That’s God right there. As the year as gone by, I know that God has put me there for growth. He took me out of my comfort zone and allowed me to open my eyes that with His help I am capable of making a difference..no matter the length of time.

I remember in the first few weeks that I started I came with an intimidated spirit. Surrounded by people who came across innovative and very intelligent; measuring myself against them in an unhealthy manner. It was just yesterday that one our pastors labelled God as Omniscient. Omniscience. I related that phrase to my job because of the science part of the word. When you have God on your side, you also have all the potential answers to all the potential worldly problems, including the “new” science theory they are trying to turn into reality. There is nothing new under the sun in God’s eyes. It is said in the Word that:

“Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me. I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say: My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please” (Isaiah 46:9-10).

and

“Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD” (Psalm 139:4).

 

THUMBS DOWN

Blogging Pattern: Deep down I know within myself that I could have offered much more of my time to the blog in terms of planning ahead and ensuring there was something new to post every week. Particularly during months where I already knew I was going to be busy. I am also appalled at my efforts on the utilisation of social network to encourage people with the Word and the pastors quotes. If you have any ideas of how I can improve on this starting from now…let me know. However saying that, I am thankful and proud of the all the testimonies displayed this year and your comments have encouraged me to carry on. The views have pasted 9,000. THANK YOU!

Time to come out the shell: When I look back at the number of events I have accepted to go on this year; it has only been a handful so I know that I have missed out  on networking with other amazing people. People that I can benefit from. Actually, one of the  tasks I set myself a few weeks ago is to look for a mentor, someone who can continue to push me spiritually continuously.

 

Find  a charity and give: I don’t really know what I am waiting for. It is one of the act that brings about abundance of blessings, feel free to give me links of charity that I should join. Like tithe, money for what you’re planning to give to charity should be separated before spending.

What are your highlights and disappoints this year?

For this task I will be nominating: Andrea – Heated Gold and Pressured Coal, Helen – Letters of Jay, Femi- LoveBall and Jesse – “God’s Gift”. I’ll be looking forward to reading your post.

Readers, feel free to write down your highlights of 2015 the comment box. 🙂

 

One thought on “YEAR 2015: Thumbs Up and Down…

  1. Yay! I love the new look of the blog. So lovely.

    I totally agree with your point about travelling, it’s so relaxing. I also learnt that this year as well.

    And we shall do better with our blogging🙈

    Loved reading your thumbs up and thumbs down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

