Mr and Miss Nigeria UK Success – Ganiyat Alli

Mr & Miss Nigeria UK was created from a friend planting the idea in my head at an event I went to which had a similar theme to it. I attended Miss Ghana in 2013 and was asked ‘Gany, where is Miss Nigeria? Where are your people?’ I did not have the answer to the question so I began to do research in order to actually find out where our own show was. I prayed and prayed, researched and researched and found there was a Miss Nigeria UK, which last took place in 2009. So the idea came to me to do a joint pageant.

It took me about 6 months to reveal the idea I had to anyone because I feared someone taking it and producing the event themselves. I was worried that maybe someone else would have already had the same idea and was producing something similar. When I finally began promoting the event, challenges from every corner were arising.

Firstly, we were hit with allegations of stealing someone’s idea and that they were going to sue. Prayer was needed by this point and I also sought advise from law student friends. I had found out that the allegations were void and I proceed to Trademark the brand in order to make it stick in the court of law.

Secondly, when the time came to promote the brand and get people interested in applying, initially we only planned to have one long casting day but we only had 4 people attend, which was rather disappointing. So we planned two more and finally had just enough contestants to begin the voting process.

The hardest part was finding funding, when I came up with the idea I honestly believed that at least one company would be interested in sponsoring as there are so many Nigerians in the UK, however this was not the case and I had to turn to an investor to provide the money to cover the major cost of the Venue. Basically, throughout the whole process I found myself getting severe anxiety and pulling away Christ because I didn’t understand how he was helping me. The more I pulled away the more things began to fall out of place so I decided this was not the best thing to do. I started to devote more time to God, prayed more and requesting for intercessory prayer.

During the process of the event all the contestants expressed how much they enjoyed being apart of the show and how for some the show helped to build their confidence. Not only this but I received a lot of positive feedback from people that I have never met discussing how much they enjoyed the event and that they now have less fear in perusing their dreams.

This events was more then just another showcase, I wanted to show people how hard work, perseverance, prayer and determination can go such a long way. I overcame my biggest fear and that was SELF-DOUBT, I have had big issues in believe I can achieve great things as I always see myself as very average. This event helped me to believe in myself so much more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


ABOUT GANIYAT ALLI

I am a 25 year old Media Production graduate who found myself, once finishing university, in a vicious cycle of working in retail as getting a graduate job had proven to be very difficult. Whilst at university I found myself slowly falling in love with putting events together after being invited to help join a few projects. In my second year I got involved in my university African Caribbean Society where I was treasurer and later became president, which in turn taught me a lot about leadership and dealing with people. As time went on I found more and more of a passion in producing events and helping people put their events together. From 2011-2012 I volunteered on a lot of projects and learned what it takes to produce quality events. In March 2012 I created my own company, Vir2uous Limited that is now an Events & Hospitality management company. The name from the company derived from the Proverbs 31 scripture, I wanted potential customers to view the brand positive and reliable. The number 2 in the name is in relation to how long it took for me to start out on my own.

In May 2012 I held my first solo event, Fashion Exposed UK, which is a charity fashion show helping to promote up and coming designers & models. I am the event manager for Vocals & Verses, a bi-monthly live music and poetry night that has been around since March 2011. I recently embarked on my biggest project to date, Mr & Miss Nigeria UK beauty pageant, which took place on Sunday 12th October 2014 and received amazing reviews. I am now an award winner after winning an award at the Gathering of Africa’s Best awards for events management.

10846169_727817253967165_4565981920469096606_n

 I’m so overwhelmed right now! I honestly didn’t expect this, I was happy with nomination alone! Praise be to God GAB Award for Outstanding contribution to the promotion of the positive image of Africa and Africans around the world through EVENTS MANAGEMENT

On a personal note I am what my friends call bubbly and energetic and I love to make people laugh and smile and this is one of the reasons I love putting events together. I love giving people a platform to fully express themselves and share their amazing talents with the world.

Ganiyat

If you have any further questions she may be able to help you with, follow her @MSGANYV2.


DAfricanLady’s Words

Happy New Year Everyone, we made it!

Converting our mindset and some verses to keep with you for the year ahead…

wpid-wp-1420147248272.jpeg

The Lord directed me to post this testimony around this time because right from the start, I want you to know that this is the year where you will be getting rid of your self-doubt, for the Word says in [Jeremiah 29:11(ESV)]:

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

This is the year you’ll believe in yourself and come out of your comfort zone. You will be presenting divine ideas, for it is written in the Word that you should [Romans12:2 (ESV)]:

…not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good, acceptable and perfect.

As a child of God you will be reflecting light, attracting divine favour. You won’t just be standing but you will be outstanding for [Matthew 5:13-14 (NLT)]:

13“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt has become tasteless, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men. 14“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden..

I pray that. . .

This year, God [Revelation 21:4 (KJV)]:

will wipe away every tear from YOUR eyes, there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have past away.

Mehn, may God give you the wisdom and guidance to achieve your goals this year…

Wait wait…what am I even saying? If a dog has wisdom of a dog, a cat has wisdom of a cat, a human have wisdom of human….then as a child of God we are entitled to have that wisdom of God [James 1:5 (KJV)]:

If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.

This year will be a great year for you and your family. Let’s make that effort to be  best friends in our Bible(s), exercise our faith and then be ready, to set and to go.


What did God do for you in the year 2014? Write it in here*:

*To give a testimony anonymously, is upon request also.

https://i1.wp.com/myfamilyoffaith.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/Testimony-Banner-01.png

3 thoughts on “Mr and Miss Nigeria UK Success – Ganiyat Alli

Leave a Reply

